‘Twas on a Monday morning – small stone 30

The old nursery rhyme describes the laundry maid as “dashing away with the smoothing iron”, but I have no energy for dashing on this murky grey Monday morning.

However there is something gently soothing about ironing. Although I often procrastinate until the laundry basket is overflowing, the ironing process, the creaking hiss of steam and the warmth of the fabric under my hands, is distinctly pleasurable. And then there is the satisfaction of taking a crumpled, creased garment, and smoothing it. Ironing out the wrinkles and ending up with a flat, evenly pressed material.

I hang my freshly ironed clothes in the wardrobe, and wish that other wrinkles, irritations and frustrations could be as easily ironed out, sorted with just a bit of gentle heat, pressure and steam. But, sadly, life isn’t quite as “neat and nimble-O” as the nursery rhyme might imply…

4 responses to “‘Twas on a Monday morning – small stone 30

  1. I too put off the evil moment of starting the ironing and try to keep it to a minimum however, once started, I do find it soothing and even now, sixty years later, the smell of warm laundry takes me right back to early childhood and ‘listening with mother’ while she got on with the dreaded task.

  2. I don’t know that nursery rhyme!!! I love your iron painting. Our iron doesn’t steam any more…hard water ruined the steam holes.

Leave a Reply

