Devon grey day

A wet Saturday morning, and the scenic drive along the Dorset coastline, and then across Exmoor to North Devon, was largely a white out! But as we drove down through the wooded valley leading to Combe Martin, we emerged from the low cloud and the sun was trying to shine.

20150328-205754.jpgWe explored the pretty nearby village of Berrynarbor where my great grandparents William and Selina Snow grew up. I have written more about their lives on my other family history blog. Their family trees have been difficult to unravel, but in Berrynarbor churchyard I found the grave of Ephraim and Jane Street, who I believe to be Selina’s grandparent, and my 3x great grandparents.

20150328-210015.jpg

20150328-210049.jpgAfter their marriage William and Selina moved a few miles along the coast to the growing Victorian resort of Ilfracombe, where William had a florists shop. We found the house where they were living in the 1901 and 1911 censuses, and where my grandmother Mabel Jane Snow spent her early years.

20150328-210437.jpg
Down on the harbour side we saw Damian Hirst’s impressive larger than life sculpture “Verity”. Slightly incongruous but it makes an impact. I can’t imagine what ever my great grandparents would have made of it!

20150328-210936.jpgThen back along the cloudy, rocky coast to Combe Martin, beautiful even on a grey day.

20150328-211158.jpg

4 responses to “Devon grey day

  1. How wonderful the gravestone was still there and so well preserved. What a long lived couple too!

  2. annajanegreaves

    I have seen that house before in a photo! The missing photo from our old box. Was there any writing on the side of the wall of the house? So special seeing that grave picture. Hope today is as exciting as yesterday.

    • No writing on the side wall! I don’t think I’ve seen a picture of this before… Perhaps because it is missing from the old box?! … I will look through the old photos I’ve got when I get home.

Leave a Reply

