Just sing…

Thank you to a couple of you who contacted me after reading my last post, concerned that I was feeling miserable or depressed. I am grateful for friends who care. In fact I am feeling very content and fulfilled at the moment. But my musings in my last post were an illustration of how emotions and thoughts can come and go, like ripples and currents in a passing stream, or clouds scudding across the sky. They can be both beautiful and frightening. And they pass, we don’t have to be swept away with them.

The blog A Year Of Being Here posts daily “mindful” poems, including this wonderful one by Mary Oliver.

I Worried

I worried a lot. Will the garden grow, will the rivers
flow in the right direction, will the earth turn
as it was taught, and if not how shall
I correct it?

Was I right, was I wrong, will I be forgiven,
can I do better?

Will I ever be able to sing, even the sparrows
can do it and I am, well,
hopeless.

Is my eyesight fading or am I just imagining it,
am I going to get rheumatism,
lockjaw, dementia?

Finally I saw that worrying had come to nothing.
And gave it up. And took my old body
and went out into the morning,
and sang.

From “Swan.

So just keep singing, writing, stitching, painting, dancing….! 🙂

20140219-091214.jpg

2 responses to “Just sing…

  1. Love this Mary Oliver poem and hadn’t seen it before. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

