Thought stream

My mind drifts –
A debris of random thoughts
Caught in a current of worried helplessness
Carried out on a swirling sea of possibilities
Ever widening, dark and threatening, open ended chaos.
An overhanging branch appears
I clutch its roughness, smell its earthy rootedness
And haul myself back to solid ground
Of the present moment.

20140217-161716.jpg
This is me being aware of how easily my mind can drift into a fast flowing stream of anxious thinking. Before I realise it I am swept off my feet into a black ocean of fear. For me the discipline of “mindfulness” is like coming to my “senses”, and dragging myself out of the current. I need a deeply rooted rescuing branch to reach out to…

3 responses to “Thought stream

  1. In the Stillness of Willow Hill

    Poignant words. I continually have to haul myself back to solid ground. Slowing down a multi-tasking brain isn’t easy to do.

  2. Pingback: Just sing… | Weavers Journal

Leave a Reply

