Exercises – small stone 15

Aqua aerobics
High kicks, underwater running,
Heart pumping, breathing hard,
Body glowing.

Journal writing
Sitting slouched, buttocks numb,
Circulation pooling at my ankles.
Mind racing.

20140115-191548.jpg
The writing prompt for today was to pay attention to the body. I sometimes wish writing was not so sedentary! Today I feel sluggish after spending most of the day reading or writing. I certainly need the body exercise as well!

4 responses to “Exercises – small stone 15

  1. Oh, this resonates SO strongly with me – I totally agree with you regarding the sedentary nature of writing. My compromise is to get out into the wild – then write about it! (I am not so virtuous as you, to have attended that aqua-aerobics class – sounds exhausting to just read about it!!)

    • I agree about getting outside Roz, just rather wet weather recently! I find the aqua aerobics very energising in fact. I can do all kinds of things in the water I could NEVER do on dry land!! And our particular group is very friendly!

  2. And didn’t we do a lot of underwater running this week! I so agree with your comments about sitting hunched up writing. I try to make the effort to get up and move around every half hour but its difficult to remember when you are engrossed and only realise I haven’t done it when I feel the aches and stiffness!

    • Yes we did do a lot, my leg muscles were aching from being well used! Thanks for commenting here, Maryanne, we don’t have much time to chat when we are working so hard in the pool! 🙂 Happy writing today…

Leave a Reply

