Red leather handbag – small stone 11

“I am your faithful companion,
I carry your stuff in my capacious compartments.
My handles are cracking, losing rigidity and strength
My leather skin is softening and my colour fading,
But I know you still love me.”

20140111-102751.jpg
Today’s writing prompt from Writing Our Way Home was to consider an object showing signs of impermanence or age. It was interesting giving a voice to my favourite, but ageing, handbag. Knowing that all things will come to an end can help us notice and appreciate them while we have them.

2 responses to “Red leather handbag – small stone 11

  1. That is a *seriously* pink bag, Cilla! I can imagine the memory of it being much more permanent than the item itself. How I would love to carry that around with me – summertime strawberry icecream on a strap 🙂

Leave a Reply

