Time passing -small stone 10

In younger years I counted days
to holidays or treats.
These days I’m counting back
to their birth day,
or when I last saw her.
Cycles of seasons, rotations of the stars,
Vagaries of weather, random events.
Birthdays or a funeral
I cannot change the changes of time passing.

20140110-095145.jpg

Writing prompt today – something I cannot change, as in the serenity prayer (“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.”) This old clock in our hallway always shows the same time. It has been stopped for years! But not so in my life. I cannot stop the changes of passing time, my children reaching another birthday, losing friends and loved ones through death, and my own ageing. I cannot change change, but I can appreciate this moment.

2 responses to “Time passing -small stone 10

  1. That is a very touching observation on the changing way in which we perceive time. Bittersweet.

Leave a Reply

