Old Letter rack – small stone 2

Brassy boldness dulled by dust, stuffed with forgotten mail,
You sit upon the desk in daily view.
Today my eye alights upon unnoticed lovely detail.
Embossed waves carrying an old ship, moulded metal catching sunlight.
A breeze of memory rises, filling the sails of my imagination
Carrying me back to happy times; holidays with my grandfather.

20140102-104145.jpg
Today’s Mindful writing prompt was “unnoticed lovely detail”.
This old letter rack belonged to my grandfather. It is always in my view, but rarely seen. It is amazing what a moment of noticing has brought to mind…

Leave a Reply

