Learning from trees

I received some interesting comments on my post yesterday. It got me thinking about what we learn from trees especially though the seasons. I wrote a couple of poems about my beech tree back in November. Metaphor and To a bare beech
Then as I went to bed last night I picked up May Sarton “Journal of a Solitude” and read this…

“Imitate the trees. Learn to lose in order to recover, and remember nothing stays the same for long, not even pain, psychic pain. Sit it out. Let it all pass. Let it go.”

A lot here about letting go, and there is both a pain and a beauty in this process. I think I have a long way to go in my learning from trees, both those that lose their leaves in autumn, and those that are felled.20130213-201147.jpg

A stitch I finished recently which I hope illustrates some of the colourful beauty of the “letting go” of autumn.

20130213-201220.jpg

4 responses to “Learning from trees

  1. niki@gledhillnet.co.uk

    Beautiful stitch work with lovely colours…and interesting subject. I always enjoy your writing.

  2. Beautiful. I love the colour and the movement

Leave a Reply

