Making stitches…

The pointed needle pushes through,
Soft yarn wraps round, pulls under, slips off
The loop is formed, a stitch is made.
The simple motion,
In, over, through, and off,
Again, again, again…
The rhythm builds as I repeat,
Regularly, steadily,
Fabric grows beneath my fingers.

The e-course “Writing and Spiritual Practice” I am following at the moment referred to “small stones” and “pausing to pay attention” as being like stitches. I had some fun exploring  the definition and origin of the word “stitch”.  The noun has meanings to do with  “a single complete movement formed by a needle with a thread, in sewing or surgery”, and the verb is to do with “fastening, connecting, joining, repairing, making.” I was intrigued by the contrasts of the needle – hard, sharp, pointed, piercing, puncturing, and breaking through. And then the  yarn, soft, pliable, bending, flexible, looping, knotting and tieing together. Both are necessary in regular repeated motion to make the connections and build the fabric.
I think I need to keep making the stitches and see what grows!

8 responses to “Making stitches…

  1. Lovely words. Now, if I wasn’t suffering from ‘knitter’s thumb’ again, I’d agree with the sentiments! Currently have 4 Ws-I-P … a bag for felting in chunky, a long-worked-on waistcoat. a single ply shawl (fiendish, but beautiful) and tiny hexagons for a ‘beekeeper’s quilt’ And that’s without the 2 pairs of socks waiting to be knitted in some glorious self-patterning yarns. Ho hum. Never time to stop. i’m not sure how I managed to go out to work.

  2. Wow, great combination here – photography, knitting, writing. Brilliant. You’re obviously being enriched by the process, stick with it!! 🙂

  3. Just to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Congratulations and thanks for being inspirational. 🙂

  4. I just discovered your blog. I have enjoyed what I have read so far. I too am a textile lover. I grew up in a family of crafters. I was surrounded by sewing, knitting, crocheting, and quilting as a child. I guess that it was inevitable that I too would develop a love of fiber. Knitting is my current fiber craft. I find that it relaxes me, which helps my writing. I have not made the full scale leap into photography yet, but it is tugging at my heart. I look forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

