The next stage of the journey

It doesn’t have to be
the blue iris, it could be
weeds in a vacant lot, or a few
small stones;  just
pay attention, then patch

a few words together and don’t try
to make them elaborate, this isn’t
a contest but the doorway

into thanks, and a silence in which
another voice may speak.

Mary Oliver –  “Praying” from Thirst: 2006

First of February and the River of Stones 2012 is over. But the habit remains, and this poem of Mary Oliver’s is in the front of my journal where I scribble my “paying attention” moments, and my mental “snapshots”.
I want to continue sharing my “stones” as I find them, and also some from my collection, from moments in the past.  It may not be on a daily basis but do please click on the “follow me” button, drop by when you can, and leave a comment if you want to.

6 responses to “The next stage of the journey

  1. Following :-).
    I’m missing ‘The River’ as well. Thank you for looking in at the new blog – just a simple page to begin with but i knew that if I did not do it today, it would get lost in the mists.
    Look forward to keeping in touch and reading more about your textile and pen-adventures! x

  2. I am so glad you are carying on,I enjouyed your January posts. I have just set up a new page on my blog called Counting My Blessings at
    http://www.justafewlittlewords.co.uk/counting-my-blessings I do hope you’ll join me.

  3. Keep going – you inspire others.

Leave a Reply

