Celtic song – small stone 20

The plaintive sound of a single voice,
With plucked harp and weeping violin,
Pull at my insides and squeeze my heart.

Then bagpipes squawk, and clear pipes call
Strummed guitars wake my feet
To the drum of the toe-tapping jig.

I find it hard to capture music in words, but sounds are often what call me to stop,  and pay attention – such as the beautiful programme of  Celtic folk music on BBC 4 tonight.

2 responses to “Celtic song – small stone 20

  1. While the music remains unrecorded… perhaps I will remember the dreamy young voice of Son of son… a sleep talker whose voice is mostly joyful.

Leave a Reply

